Someone to chase

This video popped up on my Facebook account the other day and it was so motivational and really hit home.

This is the whole clip as I am unable to edit it down! Something to learn! The video is from YouTube via Facebook!

If you don’t want to watch the whole clip, skip to 1:55 and watch from there!

In a nutshell, Matthew McConaughey needs three things every day:

  1. Someone/something to look up to
  2. Something/ someone to look forward to
  3. Someone to chase / a hero

The part that hit me most was the third thing he needs every day.

Someone to chase!

His story about the person who asked him who his hero was and he said: “me, in 10 years!”
This stopped me in my tracks…I thought about it… it made sense.

It made a lot of sense.

Throughout my twenties I remember telling my friends that if I grew up to be my mother I would be happy – She is independent, determined, she raised four successful children, she always made a plan, and she celebrated her 60th birthday at Everest base camp. Here was someone to chase…

I thought back to me at 26, I was working in London and looking for a way to see the world and be happier. To be more than I was, I was trying to be me now!

Even further back, at 16, I wanted more than the simple life in my hometown, I wanted adventure and wanted to see the world. I wanted to be independent. I wanted to be more.

Now at 36, I realise that my mother inspires me, but I am chasing myself. She taught me the skills to chase myself to be more than I am today.
Using Matthew McConaughey 3 things, I have formulated my own:
1. My mother
2. My Family and friends
3. Me in 10 years

What are your 3 things to inspire you?

Who will I be in 10 years? Who will I want to be in 10 years?

Who will you be? Who are you chasing?

 

Leave a Reply

